NCHA Banner

Highlight after highlight made the Wingman NCHA Autumn Spectacular everything it should be – spectacular in its success.
Tyler Hodgman’s win in the Futurity posted him as the youngest winner of the title in the NCHA’s almost five decades in this nation.
Entertainment in the shape of the Baumann Building Hunter Valley Thoroughbred Stud Breeders Cutting Challenge on the Friday night had the bleachers full. They also provided many emotion-charged displays by newcomers to the sport, mentored by doyens like Link Baumann, Lynda MacCallum and Warwick Screen, proving they could cut the mustard when it mattered.
As the first major event for the NCHA since the COVID-19 shutdown of the sport last year, the hopes and plans for the aged event delivered results for owners and trainers in spades.
The White Park venue also proved it will be a great alternative venue for the NCHA for similar events in years to come, with competitors travelling from as far as Central Queensland and south-eastern Victoria with their horses to be part of the action.
The Spectacular also provided the fans with some fantastic results. The penultimate day of the Spectacular saw two imposing scores of 227pts in contention for the Day 7 4CYTE Run of the Day award.
Early in the day Andrew Wrigley and Tapt Dancin Doll took the honours with a 227 point run in the Shines Like Metallic Amateur Classic Challenge Final. However later during the Scone Equine Group Open Snafflebit Futurity Final, Manilla-based Joel Duff aboard GI’s Kitten D’Amour also nailed a run of 227. After a coin toss, it was Joel Duff and GI’s Kitten D’Amour who took home the fantastic 4CYTE product
GI’s Kitten D’Amour then doubled up on the final day to take Jim Lyons Agency Non Pro Snafflebit final with another cracking 227 point run and earning another 4CYTE Run of the Day package.
Another of the long list of highlights was Ashleigh Meagher’s partnership with Magicool, scoring 225 points taking out the Galloping Group Open Gold Cup. Ashleigh then aboard Ducktallic scored a 217 run to be one point clear and winner of the Shines Like Metallic Non Pro Amateur Derby.
The Baumann Building Hunter Valley Thoroughbred Studs Cutting Challenge was one of the great success stories of the Autumn Spectacular with 12 representatives from some of the leading Thoroughbred studs in the country. They included:
• Newgate Stud’s Henry Field;
• Coolmore Stud’s Tom Magnier;
• Kitchwin Hills Stud’s Mick Malone;
• Widden Stud’s Antony Thompson;
• Godolphin Stud’s Tayla Gilmore;
• Sledmere Stud’s Catriona Murphy;
• Riversdale Stud’s Nick Hodges;
• Vinery Stud’s Emma Parkinson;
• Segenhoe Stud’s Stephanie Watt;
• Coolarest Farm’s Jason Bowden; and
• Arrowfield Stud’s Alice Messara.
Tayla Gilmore partnered with Playin With Pepto to victory with a fantastic score of 79pts. She was also a member of Team Lynda, which ended up taking out the overall teams’ title over teams Linc and Waz.
Almost $40,000 was raised in a pre-event Calcutta auction with 25 per cent of the funds going to the charity, Riding for the Disabled, a more than worthy recipient of the funds.
Incoming NCHA President Troy Randell congratulated all the entrants for assisting in making the Wingman Autumn Spectacular a thoroughly successful event.
“As the first major event since the Covid-19 lockdown, I have to admire the efforts of all that came to Scone and who put on show some tremendous horse work,” he said.
NCHA outgoing General Manager, Tim Heath said the support of the sponsors at all levels helped produce a top shelf event that will surely whet the appetite for the Tamworth Futurity from 27 July until August 8.
Wrigley Cattle Co Open Classic Challenge Final
1: Stylish Player, Dean Holden, 222.
2: Driving Miss Royal, Aaron Paul Wheatley, 218.
3: Shines Like Metallic, Phil Dawson, 217.
MacCallum & Co Non Pro Futurity Final
1: Slithering, Rachel Leitch, 221.
2: Hell I’m Smart, Billy Servin, 213.
3: Tyrrell Park Ivy Girl, Lacey Caitlyn Elliott 211.
Scone RSL Open Limited Final
1: I’m Smooth, Warwick Screen, 220.
2: Hyspin Lady, Casey Tones 217.
2: Sheza Kraklin Royalty, Isaac Westerhuis, 217.
Shines Like Metallic Non Pro Classic Challenge Amateur Final
1: Tapt Dancin Doll, Andrew Wrigley, 227.
2: Smooth N Then Some, Kirk Nicholson, 220.
3: Yulgilbar G’day Kitty Miss, Kylie Barnett-Tapp, 219.
Where There’s A Will Limited Non Pro Futurity Final
1: American Hustle, Annie Kenniff, 221.
2: Hell I’m Smart, Billy Servin, 216.5.
3: Raptor, Danielle Rea, 212.
MLR Equine Services Open Non Pro Final
1: Magicool Ashleigh Meagher, 226.
2: Who’s Moonshine, Kim Campbell, 219.
2: Reyvin Lunacat, Mark Ruff, 219.
2: Lady To Suen, Amelia Servin, 219.
Scone Equine Group Snafflebit Open Futurity Final
1: GI’s Kitten D’Amour, Joel Duff, 227.
2: Royalty Becomes Her, Ben McWhirter, 222.
3: Almora Spring, Daniel Steers, 220.
Galloping Group Open Gold Cup
1: Magicool Ashleigh Meagher, 225.
2: Metallictoy (imp) Lindsey Wheatley, 223.5.
3: One Hot Date, Isaac Westerhuis, 220.
Shines Like Metallic Non Pro Derby Amateur Final
1: Ducktallic Ashleigh Meagher 217.
2: Fourex Gold, Rodney Healey, 216.
3: Chances Royal Highness, Kimberly Rose Paterson 212.5.
4CYTE Open Derby Round Final
1: Petas Sugar Rae, Lindsey Wheatley, 221.
2: Hewitts Metallic Millions, Jamie Seccombe, 219.5.
3: BC Cold Steel, Grant Quigley, 218.
Thoroughbred Industry Careers Senior Youth Final
1: EB S Streetheart, Jessica Powell, 217.
2: Quick Smart Cat, Ryan Nowell, 201.
3: Big Ted, Meagan Palmer, 196.
Godolphin Junior Youth
1: Smooth N Spin, Jack Murphy, 221.
2: Spinning In The Grass, Olivia MacCallum, 219.
3; Yulgilbar Gday Kitty, Summar Barnett, 217.5.
Jim Lyons Agency Snafflebit Non Pro Futurity
1: GI’s Kitten D’Amour, Joel Duff, 227.
2: Ebs Sparks a Flame, Angus McKinnon, 221.
3: Little Battle Cat, Gregory Cook, 218.
RAMHP Non Pro Classic Challenge
1: Spins Catty Link, Stuart Boyd Laurie, 222.
2: Triple Six, Dean Jones, 220.
3: Girl Without Limits (imp), Dean Jones, 218.5.
Martins Stock Haulage Non Pro Derby Final
1: Smart Little Driver, Andrew Wrigley, 221.
2: Hard Spinning Cash, Rachel Leitch, 220.5.
2: Ducktallic, Ashleigh Meagher, 220.5.
Wingman Open Futurity Final
1: EB’S Dig This Cat, Tyler Hodgman, 223.5.
2: Peppyphalair, Mark Buttsworth, 223
3: Sixth Sense, Phil Dawson, 220.